Photo Etching Old Family Photos

ve been very busy in 4th year and you may notice that I’ve made a few changes to my blog.  I hope it’s for the better and I’ll get back to more regular postings again.

I’ve done quite a bit of work using old family photos. I used photo etching to etch into silver.

IMG_4517This is the silver prepared and ready to be put into the nitric acid.

 

IMG_4524This is the photo etched silver.  I’ve also embossed the shape of a gold wedding band into the silver using the hydraulic press.This is the finished brooch. The image has come out really well by oxidationIMG_4542This is another stage in the process of making a silver brooch.

IMG_4552

This is the finished brooch. The image has come out very clearly by oxidising the surface of the silver.

I’ll show you my laser etching in my next post.

 

Leave a Reply

