Work Experience with Zoe Duthie

Over the summer break I have been spending time with Jewellery Designer, Zoe Duthie at her workshop space at 31 East High Street, Forfar.

I admired Zoe’s work and contacted her to find out if she would be interested in giving me some work experience. I felt that we had similar interests in jewellery design and I was very interested to learn more from an experienced designer.

She very kindly invited me to her workshop for a chat and since then I have spent around a day a week helping out with filing, sanding, polishing, oxidising, annealing, saw piercing, jewellery repairs and any other jobs I’m asked to do.

Zoe’s Window Display

Zoe designs and makes her jewellery from her work bench in the shop and displays the pieces she makes in the shop window. She also has her jewellery designs in other outlets e.g.

Vanilla Ink.    

and has newly opened an online shop.

Zoe offers a service where clients can have jewellery made to their own requirements, she provides advice and guidance throughout the stages of design and making so clients can own a piece that is truly personal.

She has been extremely busy with commissions for engagement rings and wedding rings.

How lovely to know that your engagement and wedding ring is unique and personally designed to suit you.

I have thoroughly enjoyed my work experience with Zoe. It has been useful and helpful in lots of ways: improving my skills, learning new tips, work and design ethics and an insight into running a jewellery design business. Zoe has been an inspiration to me as a jewellery design student and I’d like to say a big “thank you” to her for everything. I look forward to keeping in touch in the months and years to come.

Leave a Reply

