Weekend Break in York

It’s amazing what you can pack into a weekend break! I went off to York last weekend with a friend on a Superbreak package.  The rail travel was great, no delays at all.  We stayed at the Best Western Monkbar Hotel. It was only ten minutes from the station by taxi and in a good location for walking into the centre of York within a few minutes.

We visited the York Art Gallery and viewed the special exhibition by ceramic artist Gordon Baldwin. It was an extensive display and from my limited knowledge of ceramics I could only imagine how his works of art were made.

I was excited to see this dress for real by Susan Stockwell made for old world maps.

Susan Stockwell   Dress

Eating and drinking usually plays an important role when I’m on holiday and York was no exception.  We visited Zizzi’s, All Bar One, Cafe Rouge and Betty’s Tea Rooms.

All were superb. Betty’s Tea Rooms is a traditional tea room and baker shop in Art Deco Style. The food and service was excellent and it was worth the wait in the queue.

I’d never been in a Cath Kidson shop before so I took the opportunity to have a good look round.  It’s a lovely shop, welcoming with its decor and colourful merchandise.  I especially like the way the  home wear was displayed and it tempted me to buy some tea towels! (present for my husband actually!)

Next we took a River Boat Trip on the river Ouse. It was a nice relaxing way to see York from a different perspective.

The rainy weather over the weekend led us to visit Fairfax House a restored Georgian Town House.  It ‘s furnished with Noel Terry’s collections of furniture, clocks and decorative arts. I was surprised by the vibrancy of the colours used for the interiors and soft furnishings especially the gorgeous red of the “Saloon”.

No trip to York is complete without a walk down The Shambles, a preserved medieval street where the building date back to the 14th and 15th Century. It certainly transports you back in time with the cobbled narrow streets, the timber-framed overhanging buildings and wee shop windows to peek into.

We also had the chance to visit a Vintage Fayre that was being held the Merchant Adventurers’ Hall, another stunning preserved Medieval building.The hall was packed with stalls selling clothes, jewellery,  home wears and furniture. Although vintage clothing is not my style I still enjoy looking at all the vintage fashions and the feeling of nostalgia it evokes in me. I love old printed paper, patterns and recipes so I couldn’t resist buying this lovely wee bundle of recipe books to add to my collection.

Maybe I’ll try out one or two of them on my family!

It was a great weekend but I recommend you go and see it for yourself I’m sure you’ll not be disappointed.

One thought on “Weekend Break in York

Leave a Reply

