Machine Knitting with Wire

I’m enjoying trying out the textile techniques over the last few weeks.  I’ve tried machine knitting only once before but I’ve never tried using wire to knit with. Lee ( the technician ) gave a demonstration using cotton yarn then demonstrated how to cast on, decrease and increase as well as how to make ladders. She also demonstrated how to change the yarn to wire.  It was difficult to see exactly what Lee was demonstrating as all 16 of us were gathered round one knitting machine but Lee was on hand to help me out later when I had a try.

My finished sample showing the knitted wire.  I like the way the wire holds its shape and that the stitch is very neat.  I’d like to try more knitting to find out what other techniques I can learn. I’m enjoying trying out the various textile techniques we’ve covered the last few weeks. It’s  a weave workshop on Friday and that’s something completely new to me. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

