Local Family History

I have just started a new project at DJCAD called Border Crossings, working together with two other Universities from Texas and Ljublijana in Slovenia.  To begin with I am working on a collection of drawings based on things that inspire me.  I have lots of “stuff” I’ve saved over the years and some of it is a collection of memorabilia from my parents. It’s in various boxes and folders and consists of photos, letters, forms, cards and newspaper cuttings.  I’ve lots of other bits and pieces such as old dress making patterns, knitting patterns, recipes and other keepsakes. I’ve always wanted to do something with it and looking through it I found an invite that had been my Mums. She had been invited to a civic reception in Dundee City Chambers for Corporal Dick McTaggart on his notable achievement of winning Gold Medal in the Olympic Games in 1956.I assume she would have attended the reception but I don’t know for sure. The Dick McTaggart Sport’s Centre in Dundee was named in honour of his achievements in the Olympic Games. The Centre is soon to be refurbished and become a centre for gymnastic excellence in Tayside and Fife.

I love rummaging through the old papers looking at the handwriting and photos and imagining what life was like for my parents and relations. I wonder if my Mum saved all these things for a reason or if she was a genuine hoarder? Whatever – I’m happy that she didn’t get rid of it as it’s coming in handy now!

Leave a Reply

