My First Jewellery Designs

I’ve just completed my first module, “Patterns in Nature” in the Jewellery and Metalwork department at DJCAD.  It’s assessment time now, all my work is displayed in the studio to be assessed by the tutor.  It’s been a busy term and I’m just starting to get to grips with the equipment and tools in the workshop.   I used copper to make the pieces. I used a number of components, shaped them using various tools and cut and soldered the small pieces together. It’s all about making mistakes and learning from them so to risk using silver would be extravagant especially by the number of mistakes I’ve made along the way.  All in all I am pleased with them. I borrowed Cathy from my group to be my model and she was superb – thanks Cathy!  I am new to using the photographic studio with the lights and cameras but we both enjoyed having a stab at it. Here are the sample pieces I made.

Leave a Reply

